Interceptor map switch configuration?

bherring
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2007 9:26 pm

Interceptor map switch configuration?

Postby bherring » Mon Oct 01, 2007 9:36 pm

Hello,

I'm trying to get user map switching working with no luck. I'm currently using D.I.4 (green / red) as the switch source in Digital Inputs - map switching tab. I have tried all combinations of the map used switch on and map used switch off with no luck. I have a 2 pole toggle switch wired to 12v source and D.I. 4 and have verified that D.I.4 is getting +12 when it should.

Data log shows 2 for map 2 and 255 for map 1 (only know this from forcing current map to map2 by setting both on and off to map2). Regardless of switch position and map used on / map used off setting the current map selection never changes.

Any Ideas?

User avatar
HaltechScott
Haltech Staff
Posts: 1029
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2007 10:07 am
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: Interceptor map switch configuration?

Postby HaltechScott » Thu Oct 04, 2007 12:12 pm

Please make sure you are crossing the trigger threshold set in the dual mapping form.
You can use a multimeter / scope to check this on the dig in wire.
Kind Regards
Scott
scott@haltech.com - support@haltech.com
Ph: +612 9729 0999
Please e-mail support directly for earliest reply.

dutch-andre
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2009 9:05 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: Interceptor map switch configuration?

Postby dutch-andre » Sat Jan 02, 2010 7:43 pm

I had the same problem but when a spliced a LED with a 820 ohm resistor --> Ground on to the "Digital in" wire the problem was solved.
It switches perfectly and i have a threshold voltage of 3 Volt.
And you now can see witch map is selected with a LED.

jasaircraft
Posts: 620
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2008 4:17 pm
Location: Santa Cruz Bolivia
Contact:

Re: Interceptor map switch configuration?

Postby jasaircraft » Tue Nov 02, 2010 10:55 am

So we should wire the switch to give ground to Digi in right?
Making people fly!

jasaircraft
Posts: 620
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2008 4:17 pm
Location: Santa Cruz Bolivia
Contact:

Re: Interceptor map switch configuration?

Postby jasaircraft » Wed Nov 03, 2010 10:59 am

hello?!!
Making people fly!

jasaircraft
Posts: 620
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2008 4:17 pm
Location: Santa Cruz Bolivia
Contact:

Re: Interceptor map switch configuration?

Postby jasaircraft » Fri Nov 05, 2010 11:01 am

Ok this is thanks to Andre, it works.

For the hardware:

Connect a 12V+ to the on/off switch, then go from the on/off switch to the digital input wire you want to use.

12 Volt + --> Switch --> Digital Input wire

Now you need to splice a LED with a resistor (680 Ohm i think) to the digital input wire that you are using and the other side of the led with resistor to the ground of the vehicle.

Digital input wire --> LED --> Resistor --> Ground vehicle

The LED is necessary to drain the excess voltage on the input wire when the switch is turned off.

For the Software:

Map Selection Source: the input you have chosen
Map used off switch: 2
Map used on switch: 1
Threshold voltage: 3
Pullup: disabled
Digital mode enabled: disabled
Low impendace: disabled

*I must add that I put the Dig In cable between the LED's negative and the resistance and not in the positive side of the LED, dont know if its correct or if its the same.*
Making people fly!

dutch-andre
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2009 9:05 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: Interceptor map switch configuration?

Postby dutch-andre » Sat Nov 06, 2010 2:48 am

The LED's positive side needs to be on the Dig In wire.

jasaircraft
Posts: 620
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2008 4:17 pm
Location: Santa Cruz Bolivia
Contact:

Re: Interceptor map switch configuration?

Postby jasaircraft » Mon Nov 08, 2010 4:07 pm

Ok, I know I didnt do it per the instructions but shouldnt it be the same or maybe even better since you'd be feeding the voltage (which in my case was around 10volts) to the Digi In after the diode? In other words I did it like in picture "A". Because it looks like (correct me if Im wrong please) that puting Digi In in the same spot as the LED positive leg is like just having the switch giving 12v... :?: Of course both ways worked ie. switched the maps.
Image
Making people fly!

dutch-andre
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2009 9:05 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: Interceptor map switch configuration?

Postby dutch-andre » Tue Nov 09, 2010 2:10 am

This is wat i meant :D (same as picture B)

Image

The difference is that in picture A the excess voltage is not burned away through the LED and has a slightly lower voltage on the Dig in.

jasaircraft
Posts: 620
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2008 4:17 pm
Location: Santa Cruz Bolivia
Contact:

Re: Interceptor map switch configuration?

Postby jasaircraft » Tue Nov 09, 2010 5:10 am

ok I'll call my client to have a look at that, but do you think a "B" setup would see less voltage? where the Digi In is placed? Because as far as I can recall I had 12V there and 10 after the LED...thats why Im doubting about it.
Making people fly!

dutch-andre
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2009 9:05 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: Interceptor map switch configuration?

Postby dutch-andre » Tue Nov 09, 2010 6:49 am

Picture A has less voltage

User avatar
Ignition
Posts: 1635
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2007 10:18 pm
Location: New Plymouth, NZ
Contact:

Re: Interceptor map switch configuration?

Postby Ignition » Tue Nov 09, 2010 9:19 am

The fact that it switches proves the LED is onyl an indicator though. As Scott stated, the conditions for switching voltage are being met and that is what counts (as long as you arent frying shit).

dutch-andre
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2009 9:05 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: Interceptor map switch configuration?

Postby dutch-andre » Tue Nov 09, 2010 7:14 pm

Ignition wrote:The fact that it switches proves the LED is onyl an indicator though. As Scott stated, the conditions for switching voltage are being met and that is what counts (as long as you arent frying shit).


I agree with your statement but if i dont connect the led the interceptor will not switch the Map. :?
Maybe it's possible without the led, but i was asked how i did it and this was my way to solve the problem.

User avatar
Ignition
Posts: 1635
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2007 10:18 pm
Location: New Plymouth, NZ
Contact:

Re: Interceptor map switch configuration?

Postby Ignition » Tue Nov 09, 2010 7:23 pm

jasaircraft wrote:Of course both ways worked ie. switched the maps.


Yep, as long as it works :)

rayd89
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2010 1:05 am

Re: Interceptor map switch configuration?

Postby rayd89 » Thu Dec 30, 2010 1:08 am

Ok,

im going to putting in my MAP switch soon, but im confused about one thing, which wire from the haltech interceptor is digital in?? ive already used the 3 pin connector (analouge input #4) to the Potentiometer i have installed to control boost, but have i lost it and been completely blind and unable to find the digital in?

thanks
~Ray


Return to “Interceptor”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest