350z IDLE problem

Questions about the Platinum Pro Harness 350Z and R35? Ask here.
EVOsport
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri May 29, 2009 4:47 am

350z IDLE problem

Postby EVOsport » Sun Feb 21, 2010 4:46 am

350z + greddy turbo kit +injectors 880cc + Haltech platinum pro 350z. When we start cold engine, all work normal (rmp 1400-1500), but when coolant temp go to 70 C engine don`t want work, rpm go down. When we crank hot engine, engine start and go down. When we open trothle on 2-3%, engine work normal, but rpm about 1100-1200. What we must correct?

User avatar
Hal-Dynosty
Posts: 89
Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2007 12:17 pm
Location: Louisville, KY USA
Contact:

Re: 350z IDLE problem

Postby Hal-Dynosty » Mon Feb 22, 2010 4:18 pm

Is it possible there is not enough fuel in the map? Coolant temp correction provides the fuel needed during warmup, but once warm it leans out?
Image
Performance Parts, Engine Builds, Dyno Tuning
502-384-8882

EVOsport
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri May 29, 2009 4:47 am

Re: 350z IDLE problem

Postby EVOsport » Mon Feb 22, 2010 4:27 pm

we try add fuel, but results is zero, AFR go to 11-12, engine go down. Engine can`t hold IDLE RPM :(
How we can up idle rpm? Or this ecu can`t do it?

User avatar
Hal-Dynosty
Posts: 89
Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2007 12:17 pm
Location: Louisville, KY USA
Contact:

Re: 350z IDLE problem

Postby Hal-Dynosty » Wed Feb 24, 2010 12:37 am

EVOsport wrote:we try add fuel, but results is zero, AFR go to 11-12, engine go down. Engine can`t hold IDLE RPM :(
How we can up idle rpm? Or this ecu can`t do it?

The drive-by-wire system (idle included) is controlled by the oem computer - so no, the Haltech will not increase the idle. The reality is, there is either a tuning issue or mechanical problem as the stock idle (650) should work (though it may not be ideal for your setup).

Do you have any CEL codes? If so, what are they?
Image
Performance Parts, Engine Builds, Dyno Tuning
502-384-8882

EVOsport
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri May 29, 2009 4:47 am

Re: 350z IDLE problem

Postby EVOsport » Wed Feb 24, 2010 3:51 am

Hal-IP wrote:
EVOsport wrote:we try add fuel, but results is zero, AFR go to 11-12, engine go down. Engine can`t hold IDLE RPM :(
How we can up idle rpm? Or this ecu can`t do it?

The drive-by-wire system (idle included) is controlled by the oem computer - so no, the Haltech will not increase the idle. The reality is, there is either a tuning issue or mechanical problem as the stock idle (650) should work (though it may not be ideal for your setup).

Do you have any CEL codes? If so, what are they?


CEL codes I will try send to you tomorrow. When we disconnect Haltech ecu, car start normal and hold idle, but afr very rich. I send on your mail our map, can you see it, maybe you know what we do wrong.

saeed66
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Feb 27, 2010 2:40 am

Re: 350z IDLE problem

Postby saeed66 » Sat Feb 27, 2010 2:56 am

Hi my friend i got same your issue also i have 350z 03 model with greedy twins and 880cc inj
and i am still having this damin problem and no one fix it for me but only the temporarly solve i got
is ( rich fuel = good idle most of time = every month spark plugs change ) and i tried as many people say
manual throtel to control it but also the same result and when i disconnect haltech or even use it but with ( C )
character on idel fields work fine but richy rich so i got upset with this ECU till some one buy it from me
to go to another company sorry
:( haltech is perfect for race cars but its not working will with me as daily driving man

deanfootlong
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Aug 13, 2009 2:55 pm

Re: 350z IDLE problem

Postby deanfootlong » Sun Feb 28, 2010 10:57 am

if your idle is surging up and down.... you most likely have a lean spot in one of the surrounding cells. try adjusting the surrounding cells where your idle is hunting. most times, its just a lean cell. good luck.

rcdash
Posts: 137
Joined: Fri May 22, 2009 11:55 pm

Re: 350z IDLE problem

Postby rcdash » Sat Mar 13, 2010 1:00 am

The Haltech can achieve a perfect idle everytime without any "hunting" in part thanks to copy through timing... ;) If you don't have a good idle, as others have noted, it just hasn't been tuned properly.

BRN12345
Posts: 60
Joined: Sun Sep 30, 2007 6:01 pm

Re: 350z IDLE problem

Postby BRN12345 » Thu May 20, 2010 7:55 pm

I would have to agree that 80% of the idle problems with 350z's is due to tuner error. I have gotten 3 NA 350z's to idle perfectly and everyone required tweaking in the various maps so no 2 cars are the same. Also in one case because it was a turbo car and the injectors were large (1000cc) getting it to idle was very difficult. The 2004 throttle body does not have a way of manually adjusting idle so you have to either modify the air bypass or replace it with a newer throttle body (i have used 2010 model) which has an idle adjustment screw under a small plastic cap.

Zedcar TT
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri May 21, 2010 12:05 pm

Re: 350z IDLE problem

Postby Zedcar TT » Fri May 21, 2010 12:09 pm

What car from 2010 has a compatible drive by wire throttle with an idle screw? Altima?

midz350
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Jan 29, 2010 8:09 am

Re: 350z IDLE problem

Postby midz350 » Sat Sep 11, 2010 12:08 am

Zedcar TT wrote:What car from 2010 has a compatible drive by wire throttle with an idle screw? Altima?



+10000 please tell.

User avatar
Ignition
Posts: 1635
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2007 10:18 pm
Location: New Plymouth, NZ
Contact:

Re: 350z IDLE problem

Postby Ignition » Sat Sep 11, 2010 8:31 am

BRN12345 wrote: you have to either modify the air bypass or replace it with a newer throttle body (i have used 2010 model) which has an idle adjustment screw under a small plastic cap.

BRN12345
Posts: 60
Joined: Sun Sep 30, 2007 6:01 pm

Re: 350z IDLE problem

Postby BRN12345 » Tue Sep 14, 2010 9:55 pm

Sorry for the delayed response guys i totally missed the questions when posted.

When you go to the dealer and ask for a new Throttle body for the 350z they give you one with the adjustment screw. I think that nissan updated all throttle bodies to have this screw now. I check with the shop tuner and he said that he went to the dealer and got a 2005+ throttle body and it had the adjustment screw. I know i said 2010 in my old post i just assumed he meant 2010 when he said current model.

When i go to the shop in the next few days i will try and take a pic of the throttle body with the adjustment screw.

Joseph Davis
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Sep 24, 2010 1:25 am

Re: 350z IDLE problem

Postby Joseph Davis » Fri Sep 24, 2010 1:41 am

saeed66 wrote:Hi my friend i got same your issue also i have 350z 03 model with greedy twins and 880cc inj
and i am still having this damin problem and no one fix it for me but only the temporarly solve i got
is ( rich fuel = good idle most of time = every month spark plugs change )



As others have mentioned, raising your idle will help. However, the I suspect the root cause of your/your friend's idle problem is your choice of injector. Two tone barrel body Delphi 880cc, low impedance, correct?

The problem with old school injectors is they may flow similarly at larger durations, but at small idle durations they are horribly mismatched. What you think of as rich is probably 16:1 on a couple of cylinders, and much richer than indicated on others - remember this is all averaged out. I've had some luck smoothing the idle out with standalones that allow per-cylinder fuel adjustments vs rpm, short of individual cylinder EGTs or widebands you are very much operating in the dark. When the engine smooths at "near stoich AFRs" because you added 10-20% more fuel to one cylinder you've got it. Sometimes you can't always get the engine perfectly smooth.

The answer is to get a modern core (as modern as you're going to get with every OEM going DI). The Bosch cores known as ID1000 or FIC900 (same core/specs, different resellers) have less variability than older cores, and the seller flow tests then matches the injectors in groups that flow similarly. I've only had them on 4 cylinder setups, they will hold a steady 16-ish AFR idle with no fuss.

millennium
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2009 4:21 am

Re: 350z IDLE problem

Postby millennium » Fri Oct 21, 2011 1:23 am

Was battling idle problems on a 04 350 with greddy tt kit, rc720's, jwt cams. Ended up drilling hole in Throttle Body Butterfly with .210 drill bit and whalla 1100rpm idle.


Return to “Platinum Pro Harness”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests