Tach Output

Questions about the Platinum Sprint series ECU settings or features? Ask here.
Berto24
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri May 06, 2016 9:52 pm

Tach Output

Postby Berto24 » Fri Oct 21, 2016 11:34 pm

Hey guys I am helping a friend with his tacho that isn't working. He has a 97 miata 1.8 engine running COP with 1zz coils. He is running a haltech sprint 500 and I was wondering if I can connect the ecu tacho output to the tach signal directly? Or do I need a tach adapter for the signal one like the MSD 8910?

User avatar
Peterson
Posts: 101
Joined: Mon Aug 17, 2015 2:35 am

Re: Tach Output

Postby Peterson » Sat Oct 22, 2016 1:07 am

Most likely yes if the tachometer receives signal from the oem ecu at the first place.Start at 5 volt 50% duty cycle as first attempt-base line.

Berto24
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri May 06, 2016 9:52 pm

Re: Tach Output

Postby Berto24 » Sat Oct 22, 2016 2:13 am

Peterson wrote:Most likely yes if the tachometer receives signal from the oem ecu at the first place.Start at 5 volt 50% duty cycle as first attempt-base line.

Yes, already confirmed tacho receives the signal from the stock ecu. Thanks! :)

Berto24
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri May 06, 2016 9:52 pm

Re: Tach Output

Postby Berto24 » Tue Nov 01, 2016 10:36 pm

Everything went as planned he has his tach working again, but I found something in the base fuel table the injection time for 5 psi was 10.2ms and at 10psi it was 10.4ms So either one load is lean or the other is rich I ask him about it and told me AFR where consistent in the 10.9 area. I dont know if I am missing something here, btw injectors were 550cc.

User avatar
HaltechMatthew
Haltech Staff
Posts: 2251
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2012 11:45 am
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Re: Tach Output

Postby HaltechMatthew » Wed Nov 02, 2016 10:25 am

Talk to the tuner about it, and while you are there ask the tuner why he used injection time in the first place. Very old skool.


Return to “Platinum Sprint Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests