Aftermarket CAN wideband use?

Questions about the Elite Series ECU's? Ask here.
Enthalpy
Posts: 127
Joined: Mon Sep 22, 2008 8:05 am
Location: Denver, CO, USA

Aftermarket CAN wideband use?

Postby Enthalpy » Fri Dec 26, 2014 5:01 pm

Can I use a CAN bus wideband from a different maker? Are wideband CAN messages the same?

http://www.ecotrons.com/products/accurate_lambda_meter/

Enthalpy
Posts: 127
Joined: Mon Sep 22, 2008 8:05 am
Location: Denver, CO, USA

Re: Aftermarket CAN wideband use?

Postby Enthalpy » Fri Dec 26, 2014 5:15 pm

I feel like I'm answering my own question here. More information:

"By default, our ALM-CAN supports SAE J1939 protocol, and broadcasts O2 concentration. Further more it broadcasts lambda, sensor temperature, and sensor fault codes, etc."

"The protocols can be either standard, or customized. We do provide the customization of the protocols for small manufacturer applications."

The data sheet looks like it has the standard J1939 datagram.

Star Positon Length Parmetr Name
1-2 2 bytes %
3-4 2 bytes Lambda vlue
5-6 2 bytes Sensor temperature
7.1 4 bits Sensor faults
7.5,8 12 bits PWM duty cle of heatr

blownbluez06
Posts: 58
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2012 5:19 am

Re: Aftermarket CAN wideband use?

Postby blownbluez06 » Thu Jan 01, 2015 5:58 am

good catch!

Enthalpy
Posts: 127
Joined: Mon Sep 22, 2008 8:05 am
Location: Denver, CO, USA

Re: Aftermarket CAN wideband use?

Postby Enthalpy » Thu Jan 01, 2015 6:33 am

I'm still not sure if the elite will handle a wideband talking over J1939.

blownbluez06
Posts: 58
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2012 5:19 am

Re: Aftermarket CAN wideband use?

Postby blownbluez06 » Thu Jan 01, 2015 6:46 am

I chose to get the WBC 2 with the dual gauge display and be done with it. I've often gotten stubborn just to prove I could do something and ended up spending a lot of money and time somewhat in vain and I would be afraid this could end up being one of those situations.

Enthalpy
Posts: 127
Joined: Mon Sep 22, 2008 8:05 am
Location: Denver, CO, USA

Re: Aftermarket CAN wideband use?

Postby Enthalpy » Thu Jan 01, 2015 7:17 am

Sure, that's possible unless I'm in it for the thrill of the hunt instead of efficiency.

Rmr298
Posts: 198
Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2008 3:25 am

Re: Aftermarket CAN wideband use?

Postby Rmr298 » Tue Jan 06, 2015 11:42 pm

I’m also looking into buying the AEM 4 channel wideband so that I can tune each of my cylinders individually. The reason why the AEM would work and not others is because the AEM compensates for exhaust backpressure thus providing the proper AFR readings. If I was to use any other widebands before the turbo (like the AEM 4 channel) it would give me false readings. I think the elite might be able to connect to the AEM wideband via CAN Bus, can someone from Haltech confirm this?
Also if that feature could be incorporated into the elite (in the future) that would be great because I would just buy two Haltech widebands instead.

User avatar
HaltechMatthew
Haltech Staff
Posts: 2573
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2012 12:45 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Re: Aftermarket CAN wideband use?

Postby HaltechMatthew » Wed Jan 07, 2015 3:17 pm

No, not via CAN.

Rmr298
Posts: 198
Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2008 3:25 am

Re: Aftermarket CAN wideband use?

Postby Rmr298 » Thu Jan 08, 2015 12:22 am

Thank you for the reply. I just bought the 4 channel TCA instead. :wink:

rudye9mr
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2018 12:07 am

Re: Aftermarket CAN wideband use?

Postby rudye9mr » Tue Nov 20, 2018 10:49 pm

hi...is this still the case - AEM can bus afr (or other can gauges e.g. oil pressure) cannot connect via can to Pro / Elite ECUs?

natanel
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Jun 12, 2010 4:58 am

Re: Aftermarket CAN wideband use?

Postby natanel » Sun Nov 25, 2018 6:33 am

Joining the question... :)

User avatar
blakebonkofsky
Posts: 244
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2015 2:58 am

Re: Aftermarket CAN wideband use?

Postby blakebonkofsky » Sun Nov 25, 2018 6:58 pm

The Haltech uses proprietary CAN messaging, so you are limited to using only Haltech CAN devices for inputs to the ECU.

Maybe open CAN messaging will be an option some day in the future? I know I'd love to see it...

User avatar
HaltechMatthew
Haltech Staff
Posts: 2573
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2012 12:45 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Re: Aftermarket CAN wideband use?

Postby HaltechMatthew » Wed Nov 28, 2018 1:23 pm

Maybe one day but for now we support our own CAN widebands and all else need to wait in line. They can always support our protocol if they wish, and we gladly give out this data to any manufacturer.


Return to “Elite Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests