active speed sensor

Questions about the Elite Series ECU's? Ask here.
Mobne_s13
Posts: 264
Joined: Sun May 25, 2008 8:56 pm

active speed sensor

Postby Mobne_s13 » Tue Jun 06, 2017 8:25 pm

- SPI:
New SPI input type added: Custom. This allows the user to select what voltages to use to determine when the input is considered active and inactive. This is required for Active Wheel Speed sensors. Range is 0V - 2.5V due to hardware limitations.


What is an active wheel speed sensor? It would make my day if bmw hall effect abs sensors would work :D

Mobne_s13
Posts: 264
Joined: Sun May 25, 2008 8:56 pm

Re: active speed sensor

Postby Mobne_s13 » Tue Jun 06, 2017 11:49 pm

BMW_DSCIII_E38_E39_X5_testing_wheel_speed_sensors.jpg
bmw wheel speed sensor

User avatar
HaltechMatthew
Haltech Staff
Posts: 2503
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2012 11:45 am
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Re: active speed sensor

Postby HaltechMatthew » Wed Jun 07, 2017 10:23 am

From that description they should work fine. Previously I believe there was a hard coded 4V high threshold so they would not have worked before. I would set 1V and 2V for the thresholds and it looks good to go.

Mobne_s13
Posts: 264
Joined: Sun May 25, 2008 8:56 pm

Re: active speed sensor

Postby Mobne_s13 » Wed Jun 07, 2017 4:22 pm

I will try and let you know. :)

User avatar
HaltechMatthew
Haltech Staff
Posts: 2503
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2012 11:45 am
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Re: active speed sensor

Postby HaltechMatthew » Wed Jun 07, 2017 4:37 pm

Interesting how it is wired. 8V+ to one pin, the other to the ECU with a pull to ground resistor on the ECU wire according to the instructions and diagram.

Mobne_s13
Posts: 264
Joined: Sun May 25, 2008 8:56 pm

Re: active speed sensor

Postby Mobne_s13 » Thu Jun 08, 2017 2:54 pm

Will this possibly be a problem?
Do I need to put a resistor to ground on the returning wire? Any ideas?

User avatar
HaltechMatthew
Haltech Staff
Posts: 2503
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2012 11:45 am
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Re: active speed sensor

Postby HaltechMatthew » Thu Jun 08, 2017 3:42 pm

The diagram shows it on the signal wire. You can try different amounts until you get the voltage range. If you have the controller you can try measuring the resistance to the ground pin.

midz350
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Jan 29, 2010 8:09 am

Re: active speed sensor

Postby midz350 » Sun Jul 16, 2017 1:37 am

Would that work with 350z sensor? Voltage?

Mobne_s13
Posts: 264
Joined: Sun May 25, 2008 8:56 pm

Re: active speed sensor

Postby Mobne_s13 » Fri May 04, 2018 4:09 am

I do have the abs control unit which those sensors are wired to.

So measuring between the ground pin and the signal pin on the controller would tell me the resistance needed?


Return to “Elite Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Racer12ca and 2 guests