Fuse current vs pin current rating

Questions about the Nexus Series ECU's? Ask here.
Andrew1
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Sep 02, 2020 5:14 am

Fuse current vs pin current rating

Postby Andrew1 » Fri Jan 08, 2021 2:44 am

I was wondering about a couple of things about how the functionality of the PDM features:

I understand that the fuse current setting on the Nexus acts to open the circuit upon instantaneous/momentary over currents that exceed the setting. The software allows for the settings to be higher than the rating of the pin (e.g. setting of 9 amps for 8A-HCO). Will the Nexus function normally in this case as long as the average amperage does not exceed 8 amps?

Also, if I have a load that exceeds the rating of the pin, can a second HCO be paired together to double the rating? e.g. (Qty 2) 8A-HCO paired together handle 16 amps? Some PDMs allow for pairing such as this but doesn't appear to be a native feature of the Nexus.

Topfun99
Posts: 127
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2008 12:36 am

Re: Fuse current vs pin current rating

Postby Topfun99 » Sun Jan 17, 2021 11:21 pm

I don't know what Haltech's official response will be to combining outputs but I've got 2 sets of 8A HCO circuits paired together and 1 set of 25A HCO circuits paired together. Has not been a problem doing this for me.

User avatar
blakebonkofsky
Posts: 422
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2015 2:58 am

Re: Fuse current vs pin current rating

Postby blakebonkofsky » Fri Jan 22, 2021 8:00 am

Andrew1 wrote:I was wondering about a couple of things about how the functionality of the PDM features:

I understand that the fuse current setting on the Nexus acts to open the circuit upon instantaneous/momentary over currents that exceed the setting. The software allows for the settings to be higher than the rating of the pin (e.g. setting of 9 amps for 8A-HCO). Will the Nexus function normally in this case as long as the average amperage does not exceed 8 amps?

Also, if I have a load that exceeds the rating of the pin, can a second HCO be paired together to double the rating? e.g. (Qty 2) 8A-HCO paired together handle 16 amps? Some PDMs allow for pairing such as this but doesn't appear to be a native feature of the Nexus.



While it's not a native feature as you say, it is possible and officially supported by Haltech. The easiest way to do it is to setup a Generic Output that is triggered by the first output. That way they always switch on and off together, and you only need to worry about triggering the first output.

kareltuning
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Aug 27, 2021 4:04 pm

Re: Fuse current vs pin current rating

Postby kareltuning » Fri Aug 27, 2021 5:00 pm

I use two 25A outputs to run 26A fans and dual 8A outputs for some solenoids. They run fine. The only problem is you have to run it as a Generic output as they suggested and you lose an output. Also when doing PWM at low duties I get overcurrent trips and I believe the outputs might not be pulsing exactly at the same time but that is just a guess. Since there is no user defined "time over max current" to trigger a fuse, it's annoying sometimes.

Woznaldo
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2021 4:44 pm

Re: Fuse current vs pin current rating

Postby Woznaldo » Sun Jan 02, 2022 6:27 pm

I've recently been looking into PDMs and many have the ability to pair outputs for two or more channels. This is done internally to avoid any timing differences (as described above). PWM often generates a bit more heat in the PDM, so pairing a couple of channels can spread the load and reduce the local heat genrated. You may not reach any current limit but, still get a bit warm. I don't think external pairing is recommended in general but, it seems it has been working for some.

As far as fuse current, again many PDMs (I'd say most) will allow for transient peaks quite a bit high than the pin rating but, will state that 25A channel could have the current limit (fuse) set at 30A or 35A. If in doubt, ask the tech section.


Return to “Nexus”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest